August 25, 2017 | 0 Comments | Filed under: 2017, September 2017

On Monday 17th July 2017 the Parish Council hosted the Annual Community Awards at the institute.

The awards have been running for several years now and the Parish Council were thrilled to have the founder of the awards, Helen Royle, as one of the guests on the night.

The Parish Council would like to thank all the people who contacted the Clerk to put forward nominations. This year we asked the Head Teacher of the School to nominate two pupils for an Award. Mrs Kilford nominated two Year 6 pupils. Courtney Grace Pinder for the excellent progress she has made over the last year and for her hard work, determination and perseverance. The other nominee was Eric Harris, his nomination was received for maturity, helpfulness and his great sense of humour. The Chairman of the Parish Council, Jennifer Bower highlighted that these excellent qualities in the Children will make their transition to secondary school a big success. We wish them every success in the future.

Winners of the School Award Courtney Grace Pinder and Eric Harris


The “Best Group” Award went to the Wakes Committee for all the hard work and dedication to such a fantastic annual event. The Parish Council wanted to express their gratitude to all the members of the group and those who have been involved over the last few years.


Tideswell Wakes Committee members receiving their award.

The next nomination was for Bravery and Community Spirit. The Parish Council felt that the nominee showed great courage in a very challenging situation. Following an assault that took place on a lady in the Parish, Spencer Gibbs called the Police and along with his friends, Harrison Watson and Luca Hopkin-Fisher, took her to the Co-Op to wait for the Police. Spencer returned 15 minutes later to check she was ok and make sure the Police had arrived. Cllr Bower commented that as a member of the Parish it was a comfort to know that there were people like Spencer in our community helping those in trouble.

Spencer Gibbs and Paul Fletcher, winners of a Community Award 2017


The next nomination received was for Paul Fletcher. Over the year’s Paul has been an integral part of the Well Dressing team in the Village. As people involved will know, it takes a huge amount of time, effort and patience when creating the Wells and everyone at the Parish Council agreed that Paul was richly deserving of recognition for his many years of hard work.

This year the Parish Council wanted to acknowledge the hard work of Lisa Shirt and Clair Fairburn for their long standing service to the Guides and Brownie groups in the Village. The two have been running the groups for over ten years. During the discussion about the hard work of Clair and Lisa the Parish Council felt it was appropriate to pay a special tribute to the incredible service to the village by the Harby sisters, Vera and Joyce.
Between the 4 of them they have over 90 years of service. Cllr Bower thanked Vera and Joyce for the many, many years of hard work and for making such happy memories for many generations from the Parish.   Clair, Lisa, Joyce and Vera with Cllr Bower at the 2017 Community Awards
pastedGraphic_5.pngpastedGraphic_6.pngSue and Stan Barber, both receiving a Community award 2017 (right)

The next award was for a very special couple, Sue and Stan Barber. Sue has served on the Parish Council until 2015. Sue has also served as District Councillor and has been a member of many different groups. The Parish Council wanted to thank Sue for all her hard work over many, many years.

Stan Barber was nominated for an award to thank him for his many years of providing bedding plants for the village. Stan provided a huge amount of plants at no cost to the Council and as all gardeners will know, it takes a huge amount of time and effort to produce high quantities of quality plants. The Parish Council are very grateful for all Sue and Stan have done for the village and it was a pleasure to award them both with a community award 2017.

The final award of the night was the Christopher Robinson Community Award for services to the Village. The worthy winner received several nominations this year. Audrey Hopkins has done so much for so many different groups, clubs and people in the Parish it is very hard to put into words just all she has done. The Parish Council were delighted to award the second Christopher Robinson award to Audrey and thank her for everything she has done for the village.


Thank you to all who attended a very special evening. We received more nominations than ever this year. We will be asking for nominations again in the New Year and encourage you to put forward any suggestions you have for a Community Award 2018.

Hannah Owen
Parish Clerk
Tel: 07738076902


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.